• 17th Annual Advocacy Conference

    November 30th, 2017
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
    Hamilton Convention Centre
    (1 Summers Lane, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • New HLA President Acclaimed

    Congratulations to Robert Hooper
    the 75th President of The 
    Hamilton Law Association. 

    Read more

  • Emerging Issues in Real Estate Seminar

    November 2nd, 2017
    9:00 a.m. - 1:15 p.m.
    Sheraton Hamilton Hotel | Grand Ballroom
    (116 King Street West, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • Corporate Commercial Seminar

    October 12th, 2017
    9:00 a.m. - 1:30 p.m
    Sheraton Hamilton Hotel | Centre/East Ballroom
    (116 King Street West, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • Looking for a Lawyer in Hamilton?

    Search our Membership Directory by:
    First & Last Name
    Area of Law
    LSUC Certified Specialist
    Language other than English

    Read more

  • Looking for a legal job in Hamilton?

    Search our Careers Page for:
    Jobs for Lawyers
    Jobs for Support Staff
    Seeking jobs for Lawyers
    Seeking jobs for Support Staff
    Seeking jobs for Articling & Summer Students
    Seeking Volunteer Positions

    Read more

Corporate Commercial Subcommittee

         Michael J. McHugh Co-Chair      Michele Ballagh Co-Chair

CORPORATE COMMERCIAL SUBCOMMITTEE MANDATE

The HLA's Corporate Commercial Subcommittee exists to advise on matters pertaining to Corporate Commercial Law that are relevant to the HLA Board or Committees, and Hamilton area Corporate Commercial lawyers.

  1. To provide a forum for discussion of topics of interest to members of the corporate and commercial bar.
  2. To organize and promote CPD topics of interest to the members of the corporate and commercial bar.
  3. To advocate on matters of interest to members of the corporate and commercial bar.
  4. To develop ways to interact with other practice areas of the local bar and related professionals.

2016-17 Committee Members

Looking for an opinion or guidance on a corporate commercial matter? The following members of the HLA Corporate Commercial Subcommittee are available by phone or email.

COMMITTEE MEMBER PHONE EMAIL
Michele Ballagh
905-572-9300 michele.ballagh@ballaghedward.ca
Kelly Fawcett 905-525-4481 fawcett@inchlaw.com
Nicholas N. Fur 905-332-0303 nnfur3@cogeco.ca
Hussein A. Hamdani
905-528-8411 x.336 hussein@simpsonwigle.com
John F. C. Hammond
905-525-4481 hammond@inchlaw.com
David W. Howell 905-523-5666 dhowell@esblawyers.com
Daniel Lawlor 905-523-1842 dlawlor@wrs.on.ca
Dana Lezau 905-546-2424 Dana.Lezau@Hamilton.ca
John Loukidelis 289-799-8530 john@jltax.ca
Michael J. McHugh 905-549-4676 mchugh@mmwimlawfirm.ca
David Mifsud  905-526-2101 dmifsud@georgestreetlaw.ca
Andrew D. Pringle
905-648-1851 x.327 apringle@anclaw.com
Thomas J. Rocchi
905-523-1842 tjrocchi@wrs.on.ca
Alex Ross 905-540-3243 alex.ross@gowlings.com
Ryan Smith
905-829-3200 rsmith@fdhlawyers.com
Pam Vermeersch
905-540-3247 pam.vermeersch@gowlings.com

The Subcommittee meets six times per year on Thursdays at 12:00 p.m. at the John Sopinka Court House - 5th Floor Boardroom. Those interested in joining the Subcommittee are invited to contact the Chair.

To speak to an HLA staff person regarding the Corporate Commercial Subcommittee, please contact:
Mackenzie Faus, Manager of Events tel: 905-522-1563, email: mfaus@hamiltonlaw.on.ca

HLA Corporate Commercial Events

The Corporate Commercial Subcommittee welcomes suggestions and ideas for future seminar topics. Please contact David van der Woerd at 905-526-9800 or dvanderwoerd@rossmcbride.com

UPCOMING EVENTS & SEMINARS

October 12
2017

Sub.:3.0h Prof.: 1.0h

Corporate Commercial Law Seminar

9:00 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.
Sheraton Hotel Hamilton - Centre/East Ballroom
(116 King Street West, Hamilton)

VIEW FLYER

For more information, please contact Mackenzie Faus at 905-522-1563

Thank you to our Diamond Sponsor

PAST SEMINARS

Written materials from past HLA Corporate Commercial Law Seminars are available in PDF format, free of charge, in the HLA's Library Collection to members of the Ontario bar.  Please contact HLA Staff at 905-522-1563 to request materials.


Recent HLA Journal Articles

ARTICLES AVAILABLE FOR DOWNLOAD

ARTICLES AVAILABLE ONLINE

 

Selected Corporate Commercial Library Resources

Please click on a topic below to view a list of selected resources available in the HLA Library.
For additional resources, please consult the online catalogue at http://library.lsuc.on.ca.

  • General Titles

  • Annotated Acts

  • Precedents (Hardcopy and/or Electronic)

  • Continuing Legal Education Materials

  • Specific Titles

Additional Links and Resources

Please click on a topic below to view a list of additional links and resources.