Follow HLA on FacebookFollow HLA on LinkedInFollow HLA on TwitterHLA RSS Feed

Corporate Commercial Subcommittee

The HLA's Corporate Commercial Subcommittee exists to advise on matters pertaining to Corporate Commercial Law that are relevant to the HLA Board or Committees, and Hamilton area Corporate Commercial lawyers.

The Subcommittee meets six times per year on Thursdays at 12:00 p.m. at the John Sopinka Court House - 5th Floor Boardroom. Those interested in joining the Subcommittee are invited to contact the Chair.

CORPORATE COMMERCIAL SUBCOMMITTEE MANDATE

  1. To provide a forum for discussion of topics of interest to members of the corporate and commercial bar.
  2. To organize and promote CPD topics of interest to the members of the corporate and commercial bar.
  3. To advocate on matters of interest to members of the corporate and commercial bar.
  4. To develop ways to interact with other practice areas of the local bar and related professionals.

2015-16 Committee Members

Looking for an opinion or guidance on a corporate commercial matter? The following members of the HLA Corporate Commercial Subcommittee are available by phone or email.

COMMITTEE MEMBER PHONE EMAIL
David van der Woerd  905-572-5803  dvanderwoerd@rossmcbride.com
Michele Ballagh
905-572-9300 michele.ballagh@ballaghedward.ca
Mark Giavedoni 905-523-5666 mgiavedoni@esblawyers.com 
Nicholas N. Fur 905-332-0303 nnfur3@cogeco.ca
Hussein A. Hamdani
905-528-8411 x.336 hussein@simpsonwigle.com
John F. C. Hammond
905-525-4481 hammond@inchlaw.com
David Henderson  905-527-6877 dhenderson@agrozaffiro.com
David W. Howell 905-523-5666 dhowell@esblawyers.com
John Loukidelis  289-799-8530  john@jltax.ca
Michael J. McHugh 905-549-4676 mchugh@mmwimlawfirm.ca
David Mifsud  905-525-3652 dmifsud@rossmcbride.com
Andrew D. Pringle
905-648-1851 x.327 apringle@anclaw.com
Thomas J. Rocchi
905-523-1842 tjrocchi@wrs.on.ca
Alex Ross 905-540-3243 alex.ross@gowlings.com
Ryan Smith
905-829-3200 rsmith@fdhlawyers.com
Pam Vermeersch
905-540-3247 pam.vermeersch@gowlings.com

To speak to an HLA staff person regarding the Corporate Commercial Subcommittee, please contact:
Mackenzie Faus, Event Coordinator & Financial Assistant
tel: 905-522-1563, email: mfaus@hamiltonlaw.on.ca

HLA Corporate Commercial Events

The Corporate Commercial Subcommittee welcomes suggestions and ideas for future seminar topics. Please contact David van der Woerd at 905-526-9800 or dvanderwoerd@rossmcbride.com

UPCOMING EVENTS & SEMINARS

March 03
2016

HLA Solicitors' Dinner

Cocktails at 5:30 p.m | Dinner at 6:30 p.m.
The Hamilton Club
6 Main Street East, Hamilton

  VIEW INVITATION

For more information, please contact Mackenzie Faus at 905-522-1563

PAST SEMINARS

Written materials from past HLA Corporate Commercial Law Seminars are available in PDF format, free of charge, in the HLA's Library Collection to members of the Ontario bar.  Please contact HLA Staff at 905-522-1563 to request materials.


Recent HLA Journal Articles

ARTICLES AVAILABLE FOR DOWNLOAD

TitleAuthorSizeDownload
Copyright in Graffiti? Yes. - Ryan Smith


 237.38 KB Download
Patent Prosecution Highways: Fast-Tracking International Patent Applications - Valerie Edward


 1.26 MB Download
From A Confluence of Laws a Charity Emerges - David van der Woerd


 716.10 KB Download
Copyright Act Update - Michele Ballagh


 1.20 MB Download
The Dangers of Copy and Paste Judicial Reasons for Judgement - van der Woerd and Hito


 1.96 MB Download

ARTICLES AVAILABLE ONLINE

 

Selected Corporate Commercial Library Resources

Please click on a topic below to view a list of selected resources available in the HLA Library.
For additional resources, please consult the online catalogue at http://library.lsuc.on.ca.

  • General Titles

  • Annotated Acts

  • Precedents (Hardcopy and/or Electronic)

  • Continuing Legal Education Materials

  • Specific Titles

Additional Links and Resources

Please click on a topic below to view a list of additional links and resources.

The Hamilton Law Association

John Sopinka Court House
45 Main Street East, Suite 500
Hamilton, Ontario L8N 2B7

Phone: 905-522-1563
Fax: 905-572-1188

Follow HLA on FacebookFollow HLA on LinkedInFollow HLA on TwitterHLA RSS Feed

Law Firm Marketing | Cubicle Fugitive