Follow HLA on FacebookFollow HLA on LinkedInFollow HLA on TwitterHLA RSS Feed

Corporate Commercial Subcommittee

The HLA's Corporate Commercial Subcommittee exists to advise on matters pertaining to Corporate Commercial Law that are relevant to the HLA Board or Committees, and Hamilton area Corporate Commercial lawyers.

The Subcommittee meets six times per year on Thursdays at 12:00 p.m. at the John Sopinka Court House - 5th Floor Boardroom. Those interested in joining the Subcommittee are invited to contact the Chair.

CORPORATE COMMERCIAL SUBCOMMITTEE MANDATE

  1. To provide a forum for discussion of topics of interest to members of the corporate and commercial bar.
  2. To organize and promote CPD topics of interest to the members of the corporate and commercial bar.
  3. To advocate on matters of interest to members of the corporate and commercial bar.
  4. To develop ways to interact with other practice areas of the local bar and related professionals.

2014-15 Committee Members

Looking for an opinion or guidance on a corporate commercial matter? The following members of the HLA Corporate Commercial Subcommittee are available by phone or email.

COMMITTEE MEMBER PHONE EMAIL
David van der Woerd  905-572-5803  dvanderwoerd@rossmcbride.com
Michele Ballagh
905-572-9300 michele.ballagh@ballaghedward.ca
Mark Giavedoni 905-523-5666 mgiavedoni@esblawyers.com 
Nicholas N. Fur 905-332-0303 nnfur3@cogeco.ca
Hussein A. Hamdani
905-528-8411 x.336 hussein@simpsonwigle.com
John F. C. Hammond
905-525-4481 hammond@inchlaw.com
David Henderson  905-527-6877 dhenderson@agrozaffiro.com
David W. Howell 905-523-5666 dhowell@esblawyers.com
John Loukidelis  289-799-8530  john@jltax.ca
Michael J. McHugh 905-549-4676 mchugh@mmwimlawfirm.ca
David Mifsud  905-525-3652 dmifsud@rossmcbride.com
Andrew D. Pringle
905-648-1851 x.327 apringle@anclaw.com
Thomas J. Rocchi
905-523-1842 tjrocchi@wrs.on.ca
Alex Ross 905-540-3243 alex.ross@gowlings.com
Adam Savaglio 905-523-1333 asavaglio@shlaw.ca
Ryan Smith
905-829-3200 rsmith@fdhlawyers.com
Pam Vermeersch
905-540-3247 pam.vermeersch@gowlings.com

HLA Corporate Commercial Events

The Corporate Commercial Subcommittee welcomes suggestions and ideas for future seminar topics. Please contact David van der Woerd at 905-526-9800 or dvanderwoerd@rossmcbride.com

UPCOMING EVENTS & SEMINARS

January 20
2015

Sub.: 1h 15m Prof.: n/a

CPD Roundtable Session "Shareholder Agreements & Income Tax Issues"

12:15 p.m. - 1:30 p.m.
John Sopinka Courthouse – 5th Floor Boardroom
45 Main Street East, Hamilton 

 VIEW FLYER

For more information, please contact Dana Brown at 905-522-1563.

March 05
2015

HLA Solicitors' Dinner

Cocktails at 5:30 p.m. (cash bar), Dinner at 6:30 p.m.
Hamilton Club 
(6 Main Street East, Hamilton)

 VIEW INVITATION

For more information or to RSVP, please contact Riane Leonard at 905-522-1563

PAST SEMINARS

Written materials from past HLA Corporate Commercial Law Seminars are available in PDF format, free of charge, to members of the Ontario bar.  Please contact Dana Brown at 905-522-1563 or dbrown@hamiltonlaw.on.ca to request materials.

Click on a seminar title below to view a list of available materials.

  • Corporate Commercial Law Seminar (November 22, 2012)

  • Corporate Commercial Law Seminar: Corporate Law Fundamentals (November 24, 2011)

  • CPD Roundtable "Commercial Transactions & Agreements: Intellectual Property Issues" (March 22, 2011)

  • CPD Roundtable "Harmonized Sales Tax is Coming to Ontario: Are You Ready?" (May 17 & May 26, 2010)

  • CPD Roundtable "Legislative Update: Recent Amendments to Bankruptcy & Insolvency Act and Canada Corporations Act" (January 27, 2010)

  • Corporate Commercial Law Seminar (November 4, 2010)

  • Corporate Commercial Law Seminar: Practical Advice for Business Lawyers (November 5, 2009)

  • Emerging Issues in Corporate Commercial Law (November 20, 2008)

Written materials from the above HLA Corporate Commercial Seminars are available in the HLA's Library Collection. Certain materials may also be available for purchase.  Please contact the HLA staff at 905-522-1563 for further information.



Update on Timing of Ontario’s Not-for-Profit Corporations Act

Jan 24, 2013
On September 26, 2012, the Province updated its targeted date for implementation of the new Ontario Not-for-Profit Corporations Act, 2010, Bill 65 to July 1, 2013. Existing not-for-profit corporations will have a three-year transition period once the Act is in effect. It is anticipated that the Province will have the default by-laws and the guide for the transition in place shortly.

Selected Corporate Commercial Library Resources

Please click on a topic below to view a list of selected resources available in the HLA Library.
For additional resources, please consult the online catalogue at http://library.lsuc.on.ca.

  • General Titles

  • Annotated Acts

  • Precedents (Hardcopy and/or Electronic)

  • Continuing Legal Education Materials

  • Specific Titles

Recent HLA Journal Articles

ARTICLES AVAILABLE FOR DOWNLOAD

TitleAuthorSizeDownload
Tax Law News - PAC Update
John Loukidelis


 820.08 KB Download
When are Trade-Marks Confusing?
Michele Ballagh


 897.89 KB Download
Good Riddance to Cancelled "Redskins" Trade-Mark Registrations
Ryan Smith


 514.02 KB Download
Naming a Business - What's What?
Ryan Smith


 579.08 KB Download
Naming a Business - What's What?


Ryan K. Smith 579.08 KB Download

ARTICLES AVAILABLE ONLINE

Additional Links and Resources

Please click on a topic below to view a list of additional links and resources.

The Hamilton Law Association

John Sopinka Court House
45 Main Street East, Suite 500
Hamilton, Ontario L8N 2B7

Phone: 905-522-1563
Fax: 905-572-1188

Follow HLA on FacebookFollow HLA on LinkedInFollow HLA on TwitterHLA RSS Feed

Law Firm Marketing | Cubicle Fugitive