Continuing Professional Development Committee

Mary Grosso, Chair

Continuing Professional Development Committee

Eric Nanayakkara, Vice-Chair

Continuing Professional Development Committee

The Continuing Professional Development Committee consists of a Chair and Vice-Chair appointed by the President and six to seven members, six of whom should practice primarily in the respective areas of Real Estate, Wills and Trusts, Corporate Law, Civil Litigation, Criminal Law and Family Law, and at least one of whom shall have practised not more than five years.

Continuing Professional Development Committee Mandate

  1. To develop Continuing Professional Development programs, conferences and events for the Association;
  2. To assess and interpret the needs and expectations of Association members regarding Continuing Professional Development;
  3. To assess, revise, add and/or delete, as necessary, existing Continuing Professional Development programs; 
  4. To manage, develop and coordinate Continuing Professional Development activities with other groups offering same such as the Law Society of Ontario, and the Canadian Bar Association 

2020-2021 Committee Members

Shayna BeeksmaBeeksma Law 905-522-1234
Sharon CroweHamilton Community Legal Clinic 905-527-4572
Alex Del Bel BelluzGowling WLG 905-523-5666
Jeffrey GoitAgro Zaffiro LLP 905-527-6877
Mary Grosso, (Chair) Grosso Hooper Law 905-522-8002
Wesley JamiesonRoss & McBride LLP  905-572-5806
Matthew JohnstoneSullivan, Festeryga LLP 905-528-7963
 Andrew KeesmaatAgro Zaffiro LLP  905-527-6877 
Eric Nanayakkara, (Vice-Chair) Regency Law Group 905-383-0500
Stephen SloanFlaherty, Sloan, Hatfield 905-522-9994
Freda VanopoulosVirk Personal Injury Law 905-521-8888
Jennifer VrancicScarfone Hawkins LLP 905-523-1333
Barry YellinRoss & McBride LLP 905-572-5823

To speak to an HLA staff person regarding the Continuing Professional Development Committee, please contact: Shega BerishaEvent Coordinator  tel: 905-522-1563, email: