• Employment Law Seminar

    Thursday, November 14th, 2019
    2:00 p.m. - 4:15 p.m.
    7th Floor Jurors' Lounge - John Sopinka Courthouse
    (45 Main Street East, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • Advocacy Conference

    Thursday, December 5th, 2019
    8:00 a.m. - 3:35 p.m.
    Hamilton Convention Centre
    (1 Summers Lane, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • Corporate Commercial Law Seminar

    Thursday, October 10th, 2019
    9:00 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.
    Sheraton Hamilton Hotel - Centre/East Ballroom 
    (116 King Street West, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • Real Estate Law Seminar

    Thursday, November 7th, 2019
    9:00 a.m. - 1:15 p.m.
    Sheraton Hamilton Hotel - Grand Ballroom
    (116 King Street West, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • HLA Trip to South Africa 2020

    May 14th - May 24th, 2020
    Cape Town, Johannesburg, and Kruger National Park
    with Go Ahead Tours 

    Read more

  • Looking for a Lawyer in Hamilton?

    Search our Membership Directory by:
    First & Last Name
    Area of Law
    LSUC Certified Specialist
    Language other than English

    Read more

  • Looking for a legal job in Hamilton?

    Search our Careers Page for:
    Jobs for Lawyers & Support Staff
    Seeking jobs for Lawyers & Support Staff
    Seeking jobs for Articling & Summer Students
    Seeking Volunteer Positions

    Read more

Continuing Professional Development Committee

 

Andrew Keesmaat
Chair

GROSSO Mary 2019 

Mary Grosso
Vice-Chair



The Continuing Professional Development Committee consists of a Chair and Vice-Chair appointed by the President and six to seven members, six of whom should practice primarily in the respective areas of Real Estate, Wills and Trusts, Corporate Law, Civil Litigation, Criminal Law and Family Law, and at least one of whom shall have practised not more than five years.



CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE MANDATE

  1. To develop Continuing Professional Development programmes, conferences and events for the Association;
  2. To assess and interpret the needs and expectations of Association members regarding Continuing Professional Development;
  3. To assess, revise, add and/or delete, as necessary, existing Continuing Professional Development programmes; 
  4. To manage, develop and coordinate Continuing Professional Development activities with other groups offering same such as the Law Society of Upper Canada, and the Canadian Bar Association.

 2019- 2020 Committee Members

COMMITTEE MEMBER PHONE EMAIL
Shayna Beeksma, Beeksma Law 905-522-1234 shayna@beeksmalaw.ca
Sharon Crowe, Hamilton Community Legal Clinic 905-527-4572 crowes@lao.on.ca
Alex Del Bel Belluz, Gowling WLG 905-523-5666 alex.delbelbelluz@gowlingwlg.com
Jeffrey Goit, Agro Zaffiro LLP 905-527-6877 jgoit@agrozaffiro.com
Mary Grosso, (Vice-Chair) Grosso Hooper Law 905-522-8002
mgrosso@grossohooperlaw.ca
Wesley Jamieson, Ross & McBride LLP  905-572-5806 wjamieson@rossmcbride.com  
Matthew Johnstone, Sullivan, Festeryga LLP 905-528-7963 mjohnstone@sfllp.ca
Andrew Keesmaat, (Chair) Agro Zaffiro LLP 905-527-6877  akeesmaat@agrozaffiro.com
Stephen Sloan, Flaherty, Sloan, Hatfield 905-522-9994 sloan@flashlaw.ca
Freda Vanopoulos, Virk Personal Injury Law 905-521-8888 Freda@virklawyers.com 
Barry Yellin, Ross & McBride LLP 905-572-5823 byellin@rossmcbride.com

 

To speak to an HLA staff person regarding the Continuing Professional Development Committee, please contact:
Kristjana Frani, Event Coordinator 
 tel: 905-522-1563, email: kfrani@hamiltonlaw.on.ca



LSUC CPD Requirement

The HLA Continuing Professional Development Committee has provided the following information sheet to assist you in navigating the new CPD requirements introduced by the Law Society of Upper Canada on January 1st, 2011, and amended May 30th, 2013 and October 1st, 2014.

Download  HLA CPD Information Sheet

LSUC Resources: