• Articling Reception

    Wednesday, May 15th, 2019
    5:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m. 
    The Hamilton Club
    (6 Main Street East, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • 2019 Annual General Meeting

    Thursday, May 30th 2019
    4:00 p.m.
    The Hamilton Club
    (6 Main Street East, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • HLA Trip to South Africa 2020

    May 14th - May 24th, 2020
    Cape Town, Johannesburg, and Kruger National Park
    with Go Ahead Tours 

    Read more

  • Looking for a Lawyer in Hamilton?

    Search our Membership Directory by:
    First & Last Name
    Area of Law
    LSUC Certified Specialist
    Language other than English

    Read more

  • Looking for a legal job in Hamilton?

    Search our Careers Page for:
    Jobs for Lawyers & Support Staff
    Seeking jobs for Lawyers & Support Staff
    Seeking jobs for Articling & Summer Students
    Seeking Volunteer Positions

    Read more

HLA Main Rss Feed

2019 Law Society Award Nominations

Jan 02, 2019
Members of all law associations may consider making nominations for the Law Society awards. The Law Society is interested in ensuring that they have a diverse group of nominations from all communities, practice areas, firm sizes, and regions across the province and we welcome your nominations.

The Law Society Medal was established in 1985 as an honour to be awarded by the Law Society to lawyers in recognition of outstanding service and significant contributions to the profession.

The Lincoln Alexander Award is awarded annually in recognition of an Ontario lawyer who has demonstrated long standing interest and commitment to the public and to the pursuit of community service on behalf of residents of Ontario.

The Laura Legge Award was established in 2007 and is to be given annually to a female lawyer of the Law Society who has exemplified leadership within the profession.

In addition to the lawyer awards, the William J. Simpson Distinguished Paralegal Award recognizes a paralegal who has demonstrated outstanding professional achievement that brings credit to the paralegal profession.

The J. Shirley Denison Award is named in honour of former Treasurer Denison and his commitment to helping others. The award is in recognition of significant contributions to access to justice and/or poverty issues. Both paralegal and lawyer licensees are eligible for this award.

Full details on the awards and how to file a nomination are available on the Law Society website at https://lso.ca/about-lso/medals-awards-and-honours/nominations-and-selection-process. The deadline for nominations is January 25, 2019.

Should you have any questions please contact Mary Shena at mshena@lso.ca or 416-947-3946.